No artistic medium has experienced so many positive as well as negative attribu­tions as has painting. With the exhibition project »Now! Young Paint­ing in Germany«, the Kunstmuseum Bonn, the Museum Wies­baden, the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz – Museum Gunzenhauser and the Deichtor­hallen Hamburg is engaged in an endeavor to determine the current status of the medium. The goal is to present a valid cross section of the painting produced in Germany by young artists, while giving consideration to all the forms in which it appears.

The exhibition concept follows three premises: First of all, the exhibition focuses on the painting as a picture on a plane and does not take into account any variations including installation or multimedia. The second premise concerns the participants’ age and requires all artists in the show to be born in the late 1970s or later. The third premise is of geographical nature with the exhibition’s focus on Germany resulting only from the necessity to keep the area of research manageable.

The exhibition will include about 500 works by 53 artists. The Kunstmuseum Bonn, the Museum Wiesbaden, and the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz – Museum Gunzenhauser will simultaneously present three or more works by each artist. A selection of these works will be on display at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg from 7 February 2020.

The show will be accompanied by a substantial catalogue available from Hirmer. The publication will include introductory essays by Stephan Berg, Alexander Klar, Anja Richter, Lea Schäfer, and Christoph Schreier as well as short texts on each artist and a list of all works shown at the three museums.

Artists: Mona Ardeleanu, Israel Aten, Paula Baader, Lydia Balke, Cornelia Baltes, Jagoda Bednarsky, Viola Bittl, Peppi Bottrop, Andreas Breunig, Paul Czerlitzki, Benjamin Dittrich, Jens Einhorn, Jenny Forster, Pius Fox, Max Frintrop, Sabrina Fritsch, Ina Gerken, Fabian Ginsberg, Gregor Gleiwitz, Lukas Glinkowski, Sebastian Gögel, Henriette Grahnert, Dana Greiner, Vivian Greven, Toulu Hassani, Sabrina Haunsperg, Franziska Holstein, Aneta Kajzer, Sumi Kim, Maximilian Kirmse, Li-Wen Kuo, David Lehmann, Benedikt Leonhardt, Florian Meisenberg, Monika Michalko, Hannes Michanek, Simon Modersohn, Bastian Muhr, Anna Nero, Moritz Neuhoff, Vera Palme, Alexander Pröpster, Franziska Reinbothe, Daniel Rossi, Markus Saile, Moritz Schleime, Jana Schröder, Daniel Schubert, Kristina Schuldt, Alicia Viebrock, Stefan Vogel, Jonas Weichsel, Tristan Wilczek.