The IMA has partnered with one of Australia’s leading prizes for emerging artists, ‘the churchie’ in 2019.

Since its inception at Anglican Church Grammar School in 1987, the prize has sought to identify and profile the next generation of contemporary artists from across Australia. The IMA and ‘the churchie’ partnership continues to support emerging artists. Finalists receive professional curatorial advice, networking and promotional opportunities, along with vital exposure on both a local and national stage.

Offering a total prize pool of $25,000 the overall winner receives a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize—donated by long-standing sponsor of ‘the churchie’, BSPN Architecture.

This year, the IMA and ‘the churchie’ are excited to announce the appointment of Naomi Blacklock as the inaugural emerging curator of the exhibition and Amy Barrett-Lennard, Director of Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts, as the guest judge.

This year’s finalists are: Ronnie Allen (WA), Jordan Azcune (QLD), Caroline Garcia (NSW), Dennis Golding (NSW), Nadia Hernández (NSW), Joy Ivill (NSW), Nicolette Johnson (QLD), Mason Kimber (NSW), Tracey Lamb (VIC), Callum McGrath (QLD), Sarah Poulgrain (QLD), Gidon Sack (NSW), Kaspar Schmidt Mumm (SA), Jane Skeer (SA), Ben Soedradjit (NSW), Louise Tate (VIC), Shireen Taweel (NSW), Melanie Jame Wolf (VIC), and Min Wong (NSW).⁠