The first chapel was built on this site in 1750. The original burned down in 1888, and a second was built according to plans by architect Joseph-Ferdinand Peachy (1830–1903). The chapel was consecrated in 1900. Mass was celebrated daily, as well as Vespers on Sunday. These services were attended by priests, seminarians, professors, and students from Petit Séminaire and Université Laval.
The architecture is worth the detour. The Second Empire style architecture is reminiscent of the Trinité church in Paris. It includes a high altar and secondary altars of white marble as well as red cherry woodwork.
The chapel was deconsecrated in 1992 and is now part of Musée de l'Amérique francophone, often playing host to concerts and lectures. It remains a wonderful place to discover.